Click here to Skip Navigation
Left Column Header

Dry the River present the video for ‘The Chambers & the Valves’

« back to news

Dry The River - Latest news

from their debut album 'Shallow Bed'

Dry the River recently announced details of their debut album, 'Shallow Bed', which is released through RCA Victor on March 5th 2012. The next single from the band will be


'The Chambers & The Valves' which precedes the album; released as a 7" and digital download on February 27th. 

The 11-track album was produced by Peter Katis (The National / Interpol) at his Connecticut home-studio during the summer of 2011. 

“We were looking for someone who could strike a balance between lo-fi and hi-fi,” says Peter Liddle, Dry the River’s lead singer. “We wanted to record the bulk of it to tape, to use analogue stuff in favour of computer wizardry where possible, but without it sounding like an old folk record. I think we tried to preserve the fragility and honesty of the more stripped down tracks, but still get the intensity of the live show across too - to marry those two aspects of our music without it sounding incongruous.”

The track-listing of the album is as follows:
01. Animal Skins
02. New Ceremony
03. Shield Your Eyes
04. History Book
05. The Chambers & The Valves
06. Demons
07. Bible Belt
08. No Rest
09. Shaker Hymns
10. Weights & Measure
11. Lion’s Den

The band have also announced details of a London headline show, their biggest to date, at the Electric Ballroom on Wednesday 2nd May 2012 alongside their UK / IE tour.

The band were listed as one of 15 acts on the prestigious BBC Sound of 2012 shortlist. For more info:

Dry the River formed in spring 2009 and have lived together in the same shared house in Stratford east London since. Citing an esoteric list of influences - Leonard Cohen, At The Drive-In, Neil Young, Arlo Guthrie, Neutral Milk Hotel, Bruce Springsteen and Devendra Banhart – the band draw as much from their shared love of U.S. hardcore as they do from the classic songwriters they all admire.

Dry The River are: Peter Liddle (vocals / guitar), Matt Taylor (guitar), Scott Miller (bass), Will Harvey (violin) & Jon Warren (drums).

08 - Manchester - Ritz - XFM show
19 - London - Shepherd's Bush Empire - BRIT's War Child Party
22 - London - KOKO - NME Awards Tour w/ The Jezabels

01 - Kingston - Banquet Records [In-store]
03 - Marlborough - Sound Knowledge [In-store]
05 - Bristol - Rise [In-store]
06 - London - Rough Trade East [In-store]
08 - Cardiff - Spillers [In-store]
09 - Manchester - Fopp [In-store]

17 - Nottingham - Bodega
18 - Cardiff - Clwb Ifor Bach
19 - Manchester - Academy
21 - Aberdeen - Café Drummond
22 - Glasgow - King Tuts
23 - Belfast - Limelight
24 - Cork - Cyprus Avenue
25 - Dublin - Whelans
27 - Leeds - Brudenell Social Club
28 - Newcastle - The Cluny
30 - Bristol - Fleece

02 - London - Electric Ballroom
12 - Norwich - Arts Centre

'Shallow Bed' can be pre-ordered from the following places -